About Us

Food Consulting Services (FCS) is a private South African owned Food Testing Laboratory and Food Safety Consultancy formed in 1977.

Food Testing Laboratory

The laboratory division of FCS specialises in the the testing of foods, swabs and cosmetics, across the following areas as appropriate:|

  • Microbiology (SANAS Accredited Laboratory to ISO/ IEC 17025)
  • Chemistry
  • Physical
  • Sensory (taste tests)

Food Safety Consulting and Auditing

The Food Safety Consultancy division of FCS specialises in consulting and auditing across the following areas:

  • Hygiene and Food Safety in commercial kitchens
  • Hygiene and Food Safety in food factories
  • Legionella Risk Audits

FCS has been providing excellent service to the Food Manufacturing, Food Retail and Food Service industries for over 35 years!

Become an FCS Food Safety Partner!

FCS has built a strong Food Safety partnership with many of Southern Africa’s largest and most blue chip Food Retailers, Food Manufacturers, Hotels, Restaurants and Food Service Companies.

To find out how you too could benefit from FCS’s excellent service and pricing structure, contact us now, and let us become your Food Safety partners!

Vision:Quality Assurance for all Food Consumed by the Public

Mission Statement: Provide food quality and food safety assurance to the Food Manufacturing, Hospitality and Retail industries by conducting Hygiene Survey Risk Assessments and Independent Third Party Laboratory Testing services, and in so doing, improve food quality and safety to the end consumer.

Meet the Management Team

Tim Thompson

Member – FCS

BSc Chemistry
Experience:42 years
tim@foodconsulting.co.za
+27 (0) 83 448 38 44

Shane Rimmell

Member – FCS

BSc Microbiology (Wits) / B.com (UNISA)
Experience:20 years
shane@foodconsulting.co.za
+27 (0) 82 923 4568

Grant Lawrence

Member – FCS

BSc (Hons) Microbiology (Wits)
Experience:22 years
grant@foodconsulting.co.za
+27 (0) 82 923 1488

Yolandi Nel

Laboratory General Manager

BSc Microbiology (TUKS)
Experience:15 years
yolandi@foodconsulting.co.za
+27 (0) 82 461 0938

Mohamed Cara

Special Projects Manager

BSc (Hons) Biochemistry (Wits)
Experience: 11 years
mohamed@foodconsulting.co.za
+27 (0) 82 498 3058

Adrian Carter

Hygiene Survey Manager

BSc Microbiology (Wits)
Experience: 9 years
adrian@foodconsulting.co.za
+27 (0) 72 384 6547

Cal Snow

Regional Manager KZN

BSc Food Science (TUKS)
Experience: 9 years
cal@foodconsulting.co.za
+27 (0) 82 817 4880